Roy Fozard 2016

trophyThe Roy Fozard Trophy was presented to the club in 2007 by the Helsby Golf Club Powered Wheelchair Appeal in memory of Roy.  Fozzy, as he was affectionately known, was an active member of the wheelchair committee as well as being a popular social and golfing member of the club.  Roy was the Chair of Match & Handicap for many years which he ruthlessly ruled with an iron fist docking many a members handicap who performed well in competitions, although always done with his trademark smile.  Roy loved the social side of Helsby and was an active social attender with his wife Karen, who is still carrying on the Fozard fun at many a social.  Roy was first to introduce and welcome new members to the Club and always helped these members get into the Helsby ways and feel part of everything Helsby.  A big traditionalist, Roy would always ensure that all winners, be it first timers, multiple winners or long time members opened their speech correctly and first thanked their playing partners.  Roy was a big driver in integration and was always striving to bring Ladies and Gents together as one. In mark of this the memorial day is contested (one of the sadly few times) by ladies and gents members in the same competition.

The competition is a 4BBB contested on the White Course over 18 holes with a handicap allowance of 90%.  And the sun again shone down on the beautiful century old turf that will soon make way for Winter.  Quick out the blocks cam Mike Branigan and Jim Lynskey  to post an early target of 42, a target that looked get able with true receptive greens and running fairways.  Past captain Colin Ford and partner Dave Faulkner would fall one short with a tantalizing 41 points that captain elect Neil Johnson and Peter Duffy would equal in the afternoon.  It was a great day for past, present and future Captains all round with Captain Elect Elect Graham Poland and partner Tommy Briscoe taking 3rd spot with a fine 42 point return.  It wasn’t a great day for everyone, the day after taking the Challenge Plate Dean Letford and new partner Jack Carroll had a day and a score to forget ending up propping up the field, a real shock considering the great Year they have both.  Captains winner Simon Begley battled on after his partner had scrubbed to produce a fine solo 32 points.  The Last out Last in pairing of David Perry and Brian Kennerley were pipped at the top of the leaderboard after fading on the back nine but still managed to knock the Captain and Dave Langley into 10th spot.  The day however belonged to Roger Horton and Lee Horton who rounded off a solid front nine with a belting back nine to post a grand old 43 points and claim this years title.

The full leaderboard can be viewed Here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s